Congratulations to the newest HS National Honor Society inductees!

APRIL 5, 2017

Thirty students – 29 juniors and one senior – were inducted into the National Honor Society before their friends and family during a ceremony at the high school tonight.

The honor culminates years of work and achievements by the students. The students needed to prove achievement in four areas: scholarship, leadership, service and character (see the descriptions below).

The inductees are:

Emily Adis
Natalia Boilard
Lauren Conley
Makenzie Correll
Lauren Dieterich
Todd DuBrey
Elaina Elliott
Haley Ernst
Lilianna Forth
Sydni Gapczynski
Juliana Geniti
Olivia Jack
Rachel Leffler
Caitlin McDonald
McKenzie Munro
Lillian Murphy
Taylor Oathout
Sydney Obman
Kira Opiela
Mary Kate Palleschi
Shannon Peterson
Grace Purvis
Edward Rosenberg
Aeddon Schultz
Shannon Sill
Jennifer Stuart
Gabriella Therrien
Alexis Zatlokowicz
Lauren Zeglen
Cynthia Zych

How are new members considered for induction?

Membership into the National Honor Society is based on four categories: Scholarship, Leadership & participation, Service, and Character

1. Scholarship: 88% cumulative average

2. Leadership:

  1. Two years of active participation in two clubs, organizations or teams. Clubs, organizations or teams can be school or community sponsored but at least one must be school sponsored. A maximum of one sports team may be used for qualification.
  2. One elective or voluntary leadership position must be demonstrated in the club participation component.
    This position can include but is not limited to the organization of a major event, class or club officer, or team captain.
  3. A student using a community-sponsored component must have an official representative of the community activity attest to the student’s participation or leadership in that activity.

3. Service: 45 hours of volunteer service, in school or community activities, completed by the middle of junior year will meet this requirement.

4. Character: Evidence of good attitude, cooperation and ethical standards as determined by the faculty.