Glendaal Elementary top stories

Glendaal school family comes through during collections for Scotia Food Pantry

Student photoNovember 25, 2013

The Glendaal community recently collected 776 food items - enough to fill 29 boxes - to be donated to the Scotia Food Pantry. The effort was coordinated by the buddy classrooms of students in kindergarten and grade 3. Click on the photo to enlarge it.

PRE-SCHOOL PARENTS: If you have a child entering kindergarten in September 2014, please let us know as soon as possible

November 21, 2013

Kindergarten registration is generally in late January or early February of each school year.

If we have your contact information in our database, pre-kindergarten parents will receive a mailing about registration that includes more information. Go to our Pre-School Parent page to learn how to give us your information [MORE]

Winter concert date changed

PLEASE NOTE: Glendaal's winter concert for grades 3 to 5 is scheduled for 7 p.m. on Tuesday, Dec. 12, at the high school. The snow date is Dec. 19. 
The original date was Dec. 10.

APPR composite scores for teachers and principals to be released after Oct. 18Parent Guide

All Scotia-Glenville parents and guardians have the right to obtain the state Annual Professional Performance Review (APPR) quality ratings and composite effectiveness scores for their child's teacher(s) and principal(s).

Parents and guardians should download the APPR score request form in order to schedule an appointment, which will be made after Oct. 18, 2013. [MORE]

Scotia-Glenville's Odyssey of the Mind teams are now forming; sign up online

September 13, 2013

If your child is very creative, likes to do projects with his or her hands and really enjoys new adventures, joining one of the Odyssey of the Mind teams now forming at Scotia-Glenville may be just the ticket! [MORE]

Scotia-Glenville students return to school for a year of challenges and adventures

Student photoSeptember 6, 2013

More than 2,700 students walked back through their school doors today. While the same thing has happened every year for more than 60 years at S-G, the day has magic every time. Check out photos from Opening Day 2013. [MORE]

Parent Today debuts at Scotia-Glenville!
Twice monthly email service offers parenting tips and information. Subscribe for free!

August 27, 2013

Parent Today badgeParent Today is a free e-mail newsletter and companion website designed to help build a stronger bridge between families and the classroom. Parent Today is packed with research-based information that empowers parents and supports teachers. [MORE]

The 2013-14 calendar will be mailed to homes by Aug. 23; you can check it out now

August 15, 2013

CalendarThe 2013-14 calendar will be mailed to homes in the Scotia-Glenville community by Aug. 23. You can check it now on the calendar page.

Camp Invention for grades 1 to 6 will be held July 22-26 at the Middle School

June 28, 2013

Camp Invention is coming to Scotia-Glenville Central School District this summer!

Camp Invention is a great way to keep your child inventing, discovering, exploring and achieving while having fun this summer.

Glendaal Library Media Specialist Deb Byrne will oversee the program this year.

Call 800-968-4332 or visit www.campinvention.org to register!

New Glendaal "How to UNMake a Bully " student video debuts

June 17, 2013

The third "How to UNMake a Bully" student-featured video has debuted at Glendaal. This video shows how students can manage and overcome stress and cope with new things in their lives, like a new school, new class and a new diagnosis. [MORE] YouTube video

Common Core testing on the way to S-G

April 11, 2013 Poster art

 If you find it’s getting harder and harder to help your child with his or her homework every night, it’s not you.
Schools in New York and 44 other states have begun to implement the Common Core Learning Standards – a set of standards that will be consistent from state to state. The goal is to ensure that students from coast to coast are college- and career-ready when they graduate from high school. Download the flyer above and watch a video for parents. [MORE]

Responsive Classroom
Responsive Classroom is being used at all Scotia-Glenville elementary schools. Find out more about it here, including a video developed at Glen-Worden.

 


Quick links heading
Events heading

Tuesday, April 22, 2014:

PTSA, 7 p.m., High School

Board of Education, 7 p.m., Middle School
(BOE/Administrative Council retreat, 5-7 p.m.; BOCES budget vote)

Wednesday, April 23, 2014:

Kindergarten screening appointments, April 23-25, Glen-Worden

PTA/SDM, 6:45 p.m., Lincoln

NYSSMA Instrumental Majors Festival, Ballston Spa

Friday, April 25, 2014:

PTA Mini-Courses, 3-4:30 p.m., Glendaal - RESCHEDULED FROM FEBRUARY

PTA Movie Night, Glen-Worden

Report cards mailed, Middle School/High School

Wednesday, April 30, 2014:

Gr. 3-8 Mathematics Common Core testing, April 30-May 2

Thursday, May 1, 2014:

Gr. 3-8 Mathematics Common Core testing, April 30-May 2

Kindergarten orientation/bus ride, 6:30 p.m., Sacandaga

Friday, May 2, 2014:

Gr. 3-8 Mathematics Common Core testing, April 30-May 2

PTA Mini-Courses, 3-4:30 p.m., Glendaal - RESCHEDULED FROM FEBRUARY

PTA Movie Night,. 6:30 p.m., Glendaal

Spring dance: Gr. 6, 4:30-6 p.m./Gr. 7/8, 7-9 p.m., Middle School

Sunday, May 4, 2014:

Teacher Appreciation Week, May 5-9

Monday, May 5, 2014:

TWO HOUR DELAYED OPENING - GRADES 6-12

Tuesday, May 6, 2014:

PTA/SDM, 6:30 p.m., Sacandaga

Glendaal Gr. 4/5 chorus and Gr. 5 band, Gr. 8 band, and High School chamber orchestra concert, 7 p.m., High School

Teacher Appreciation Day

Wednesday, May 7, 2014:

2014-15 budget public hearing, 7 p.m., Middle School

PTSA Meet the Candidates' Night, 7:30 p.m.

PTA, 6:30 p.m., Glendaal and Middle School

Walk-About, 6:30 p.m., Lincoln

PTA Council, 6 p.m., Middle School

S-G Foundation, 6:30 p.m., Sacandaga

Thursday, May 8, 2014:

Walk-About/Ice Cream Social, 6:30-8 p.m., Sacndaga

Glen-Worden Gr. 4/5 Chorus, Gr. 6 orchestra, High School concert band concert, 7 p.m., High School

Friday, May 9, 2014:

PTA Mini-Courses, 3-4:30 p.m., Glendaal - RESCHEDULED FROM FEBRUARY

MS drama production, Aladdin Jr., 7 p.m., Middle School

Saturday, May 10, 2014:

MS drama production,  Aladdin Jr., 7 p.m., Middle School

Sunday, May 11, 2014:

Mother's Day

Monday, May 12, 2014:

Kindergarten screening appointments, May 12-14, Sacandaga

Tuesday, May 13, 2014:

PTA, 7 p.m., Glen-Worden

SDM, 2:45 p.m., Middle School

PTSA, 7 p.m., High School

Gr. 6 band and chorus, Gr. 7/8 orchestra, High School orchestra concert, 7 p.m., High School

Wednesday, May 14, 2014:

All-Sports Booster Club, 7 p.m., High School

Lincoln Gr/ 4/5 chorus and Gr/ 5 band, Gr. 7 band, High School concert choir, 7 p.m., High School

Thursday, May 15, 2014:

PTA/SDM, 3:30 p.m., Lincoln

Sacandaga Gr. 3 concert, 6 p.m., Sacandaga

Sacandaga Gr. 4/5 chorus and Gr. 5 band, Gr. 7 chorus and High School symphonic band concert, 7 p.m., High School

Friday, May 16, 2014:

Staff Development - HALF DAY, GRADES 6-12

Prom Walk-in/Junior/Senior Prom, Albany Mariott, Wolk Road/After Prom, High School

Saturday, May 17, 2014:

PTA Bottle Drive, 9 a.m. to noon, Glen-Worden

Monday, May 19, 2014:

Elementary District Strings, Gr. 8 chorus, 7 p.m., High School

Board of Education, 7 p.m., Middle School

Tuesday, May 20, 2014:

Gr. 2/3 Field Day/ Family Picnic, Lincoln

Gr. 4-6 Cross Country Run, 4 p.m., High School

2014-15 budget and Board of Education vote, 6 a.m. to 9 p.m., HS gym

Wednesday, May 21, 2014:

Scotia Memorial Day parade, 6:15 p.m., Mohawk Avenue, Scotia

Gr. 4 and 8 NYS science performance testing, May 21-30

Thursday, May 22, 2014:

Gr. K/1 field day, Lincoln

Friday, May 23, 2014:

Gr. 8 Science Club trip, Middle School

Monday, May 26, 2014:

Memorial Day - NO SCHOOL - offices closed

Wednesday, May 28, 2014:

Gr. 4/5 District Field Days, HS (raindate May 29)

Thursday, May 29, 2014:

Sacandaga Gr. 3 concert, 6 p.m., Sacandaga

Friday, May 30, 2014:

Senior Awards Assembly, 8 a.m./Senior Picnic following

NYSSMA Solo and Ensemble Festival and Jazz, May 30 and 31, Cohoes HS

Monday, June 2, 2014:

Gr. 4 and 8 NYS science written testing

Tuesday, June 3, 2014:

NYS Common Core standardized exams, ELA and Math, High School

gr. 2/3 Field Day/Family Picnic, Sacandaga (raindate: June 4)

PTA/SDM, 6:30 p.m., Sacandaga

Sr. Art Exhibit, awards, Pop Concert, 6 p.m., High School

Wednesday, June 4, 2014:

NYS Common Core standardized exams, ELA and Math, High School

PTA. 6:30 p.m., Glendaal

Instrumental Recruitment Night, 7 p.m., High School

Thursday, June 5, 2014:

Gr. 2/3 Field Dam (AM, Gr. K/1Field Day (PM), Glendaal

Gr. K-3 Field Day, Glen-Worden (raindate: June 6)

Gr. K/1 Field Day/Family Picnic, Sacandaga (raindate: June 6)

Friday, June 6, 2014:

Songtime/Choralaires, 7:30 p.m., High School

Monday, June 9, 2014:

Board of Education, 7 p.m., Middle School

Tuesday, June 10, 2014:

PTa, 7 p.m., Glen-Worden

SDM, 2:45 p.m., Middle School

Wednesday, June 11, 2014:

Local final exams begin, High School

Thursday, June 12, 2014:

Third Trimester marking period ends, Elementary

Report Card preparation -
HALF DAY, GRADES K-5

Friday, June 13, 2014:

Gr. 5 End of Year Activity, noon-3 p.m., Glen-Worden

Saturday, June 14, 2014:

Flag Day

Sunday, June 15, 2014:

Father's Day

Monday, June 16, 2014:

Fourth marking period ends, Middle School/High School

Tuesday, June 17, 2014:

Regents exams - HS students attend only if taking exam

Wednesday, June 18, 2014:

PTA/SDM, 6:45 p.m., Lincoln

Regents exams - HS students attend only if taking exam

Thursday, June 19, 2014:

Regents exams - HS students attend only if taking exam

Friday, June 20, 2014:

Middle School exams -
HALF DAY, GRADES 6-8

Regents exams - HS students attend only if taking exam

Saturday, June 20,, 2014:

Summer Begins

Monday, June 23, 2014:

Gr. 8 awards/moving up ceremony, 4-6 p.m., Middle School

Middle School exams -
HALF DAY, GRADES 6-8

Regents exams - HS students attend only if taking exam

Board of Education, 7 p.m., Middle School

Tuesday, June 24, 2014:

Gr. 7 awards ceremony, Middle School

Gr. 8 trip to Great Escape, Middle School

Middle School exams -
HALF DAY, GRADES 6-8

Regents exams - HS students attend only if taking exam

Wednesday, June 25, 2014:

LAST DAY OF SCHOOL

Awards assembly,. Glendaal and Sacandaga

Elementary report cards sent home

Talent Show, Middle School

Scotia-Glenville Foundation, 6:30 p.m., Sacandaga

Thursday, June 26, 2014:

Regents Rating Day -
STAFF ONLY

Saturday, June 28, 2014:

Class of 2014 graduation, 9:30 a.m., Proctor's Theater, Schenectady

Wednesday, June 30, 2014:

Report cards mailed, Middle School/High School

Friday, July 4, 2014:

Fourth of July - offices closed

Monday, July 14, 2014:

2014-15 Re-Organizational Board of Education meeting,7 p.m., District Office

Monday, July 28, 2014:

Board of Education meeting,7 p.m., District Office

Monday, August 11, 2014:

Board of Education meeting,7 p.m., District Office

Monday, August 25, 2014:

Board of Education meeting,7 p.m., District Office

 

Click here for Scotia-Glenville calendar information

 

bottom rule